Wednesday, 27 June 2018

Secret Horizon Tips


With a new ship, comes new tips! And the Horizon has plenty...

Tip 1: Anyone sailing on the Horizon in its inaugural year (April 2018-March 2019) can request a commemorative Horizon book to take home for free. If there isn't one in your room, you can request one from your cabin steward or grab one from Guest Services where they have some sitting on a shelf!





Tip 2: The Horizon has an IMAX theatre with current movies but shows sell out quickly. Book your IMAX tickets on the first day by heading to the theatre desk on the 6th floor to choose the date and time that you want to go. If the desk isn't open, use the  self-service kiosks in front to buy tickets any time of the day!

 

Tip 3: The Havana area on Deck 5 is gorgeous! Even though this space is exclusive to Havana guests during the day, guests not staying in that area can check it out in the evening from 7 p.m. to midnight when it is open to everyone (including kids). Have a late dinner? This is a great place to grab a cocktail and take in the view before your meal. If the ship is sailing in the right direction, it's also an amazing spot to get perfect sunset pics.

Tip 4: On Sea Days at 3:00 p.m., you can go for Afternoon Tea in the back dining room (Meridian) on deck 4. They also bring around desserts and finger sandwiches!

Tip 5: There is a secret deck on this ship with comfy chairs on Spa - Deck 14. Take odd hallway and head towards the front of the ship. You will need to go through three doors and then you will reach a cute little private deck with 4 patio cushioned chairs and a table (see above)!




Tip 6: Carnival Cruise Line has started offering an MDR breakfast menu on port days as well as sea days. Unlike Lido buffet, these free breakfasts are made to order. The menu comes with the usual faves – buttermilk waffles, vanilla French toast and eggs benefit) but also offers new items like avocado toast!

Tip 7: Carnival Cruise Line is piloting a new program on the Horizon that will allow guests to order pizza anywhere on the ship using the Hub app. The cost is $5 per pizza and is automatically charged to guests’ Sail & Sign shipboard accounts.

Tip 8: Guy’s Pig & Anchor Smokehouse | Brewhouse is a new specialty restaurant being offered on a select Carnival ships. It costs $$ but guests can check out a free menu (and live music and lively atmosphere) on embarkation day (and sea days) between 12-2:30 p.m. Their lunch buffet offers pulled pork, smoked beef, blue ribbon chicken, greens, beans, mac & cheese, plus an assortment of sauces. Consider avoiding the rush by arriving later. Chances are good that at 2 p.m. you'll be able to walk right up as opposed to waiting in a line stretching half way around the promenade. 

Pssst - Jiji's Asian Kitchen and Cucina, both $15pp at night, also offer free stirfry and pasta during the day! Head here for a late lunch to avoid the crowds.




Tip 9: Blue Iguana Cantina has build-your-own tacos (chicken, pork, fish) and burritos (chicken, beef, shrimp). But if you're a sucker for shrimp tacos like me, you can go to the taco station and ask them to grab shrimp from the burrito station. Then, just pile on your fave toppings from the salsa bar for a tasty, fresh taco!

Tip 10: There is a secret salad bar on the Serenity (21+ deck).  It's not like the salad bar on Lido; it’s a hidden gem with many extras, such as shrimp. It’s free and no passes are needed eat here. Watch the video.




Tip 11: Learn how to use the smart elevators Early. The new elevator system is your friend and actually saves you time (no matter how many people tell you differently). The only guests who hate it are the ones who don’t pay attention. They’ll jump into the first elevator that opens and then wonder how the heck they’re supposed to get to where they want to go, given that there aren’t any buttons inside the actual elevator car. It’s worth noting that just like with regular elevators, yes, there will be times when a whole lot of people are trying to go somewhere, and an elevator may be full. That’s okay. Go back to the panel and order another.

Tip 12: Download the Hub App. The new Hub App lets you book dining reservations, order pizza, check your account balance, view your photos and set notifications. It's incredibly useful and will help you get the most out of your vacation.


Tip 13: The SkyBox Sports Bar is quiet but fun. Not sure if it's the location of the sports bar on deck 4 midship or just because there are so many things to do but it's pretty quiet in there during the daytime (although I double it will be that quiet when we depart on February 3 - Super Bowl Sunday!)


Tip 14: Use deck 1 to navigate around crowds in ports. In most of the ports, the gangway will be located on deck 0 (just above the water line). If you're using the midship gangway then walk up deck 1 and walk to the part of the ship that you want to go to avoid elevator congestion.

Tip 15: Find secret sail away spots. If you head to the very front of decks 5,6,7, 10 or 11, you'dd find these area are pretty much always empty. Being at the front of the ship makes them the perfect place for a peaceful sail away, not to mention incredible pictures!


Tip 15: The gym on the Horizon seems a bit small for ship that carries over 4000 guests so if you want to get in a good work out, avoid going during peak times. Your best bet is early in the morning or late in the day. Another option? Head up to deck 12 where seven laps equals a mile.


Tip 16: Buy a 64-oz growler from the Pig & Anchor. It's approximately $32 to fill and it's the perfect to-go cup to take along to Dive-In movies.

Tip 17: Enjoy one last goodbye meal. The main dining room, Lido Marketplace and Blue Iguana are all open on disembarkation morning.

Tip 18: Get off the ship quick! Opt for self-assist if you can. Get up early, head to a forward desk to watch sail-in, grabd breakfast as soon as the dining room opens at 6:30 then pick up your luggage and troll off the ship.




FREE Teen Fitness Membership at GoodLife


FREE memberships to GoodLife Fitness for teens this summer, July 3 - September 2, 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Register here: https://www.teenfitness.ca

Looking for more freebies? Go to: 
http://reviewswhatsnew.blogspot.ca/search/label/Freebies%2FGiveaways 
to view a full list of all FREE samples and reviews on one page.

Friday, 15 June 2018

FREE things to do every day in Winnipeg this summer


Winnipeg has TONS of free activities and events lined up for the season! Below is the daily line up of city freebies to enjoy this summer:


***For even more ideas, see a full list of Winnipeg activities here: 
http://reviewswhatsnew.blogspot.ca/2016/03/summer-things-to-do-in-winnipeg.html

Wednesday, 13 June 2018

Becel Avo Plus Review

Becel Avo Plus is great to cook with (it has light, somewhat buttery flavour) and works fantastic in salads. 

According to the product description, Becel Avo Plus provides a source of Omega 3 and is made with a blend of canola, avocado, and mid-oleic sunflower oils. 

I tested this product in three variations:

I added a splash to some pita bread that I was crisping in the oven for a light bruschetta appetizer and it worked beautifully. 

I also tossed some of this oil in raspberry almond salad with a reduced balsamic vinegar and it made for a nice, light dressing.

Lastly, my husband used this oil to deep fry some chicken fingers for pre-Bomber Game snack and the chicken turned out great --crispy without any heavy, after-taste (probably because this oil has a smoke point of 455 °F, which is higher than EVOO's 320°F).

Whether you’re searing, sautéing, or mixing salad dressings, I highly recommend trying Becel Avo Plus. It's great-tasting, heathy and works well for all your cooking needs.

I received this product for free from Becel in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, 8 June 2018

FREE bonus from Plastiq (plus how to earn credit card rewards on regular household bills)

Got bills? Consider Plastiq! Plastiq allows you to pay and manage all your bills by card - even if the business doesn't accept cards. Think rent/mortgage, tuition, business expenses, club memberships, etc.

While I wouldn't recommend putting anything on credit if you don't have the means to pay for it, using credit cards for rewards is a financially savvy move for those who do have funds in their bank account to pay credit card bills in full.

When you're unable to pay directly by credit card, here are a few reasons to use Plastiq:
  1. Plastiq is a great way to rack up credit card rewards without spending more than you normally budget. Some people are reporting that rent and mortgage payments may code as travel for bonus categories on other cards. With fee-free dollars, you’re earning rewards for free. It’s a no-brainer way to pay bills like mortgage, utilities, student loans, taxes, etc.
  2. Plastiq is a convenient way to consolidate all bill payments to a single service and/or credit card
  3. It is safer to pay by credit card for services or goods not yet fully delivered because it gives you the ability to initiate a credit card chargeback if the payee doesn’t deliver as promised.
  4. Plastiq makes it possible to pay bills when you do not have the cash readily available. While it is never a good idea to go into credit card debt, paying by credit card can give you more time to get the required funds. 
Sign up using this link (or referral code: 987843) to earn $500 in fee free payments!

Note: Your first $500 in payments will be subject to the regular fee. Interestingly, the terms do not seem to stipulate that you must make that initial $500 in payments via credit card — meaning that you could make the first $500 in payments via debit card (at a 1% fee) rather than via credit card (at a 2.5% fee).

Tuesday, 5 June 2018

AOR Breath Biotics Review

These Breath Biotics are amazing. Unlike regular mints that only temporarily mask bad breath smell, this oral probiotic actually targets the root cause of halitosis by helping ensure oral microbiota is healthy. 

Breath Biotics' patented strain of the probiotic Streptococcus salivarius K12 promotes a healthy oral microflora and reduces bacteria that causes bad breath by increasing the good bacteria present in the mouth! 

I received this product for free from AOR in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, 27 April 2018

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel Review

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel Sunscreen SPF 50 is water-light and infused with hyaluronic acid, glycerin and Vitamin E to instantly quench dry skin.

According to the package's description, this Broad Spectrum UVA/UVB protection sunscreen protects and moisturizes skin, locks in hydration, applies easily and leaves no white residue or greasy finish. It is also water-resistant (up to 80 minutes) and dermatologist tested, oil-free and non-comedogenic.

I like how my skin just absorbs this sunscreen and it moisturizes my skin at the same time.  My skin was left soft and not greasy or streaky.  Like other sunscreens, this product does leave your skip feeling slightly tacky but that is to be expected. I’d recommend rinsing rather than re-layering.

The scent is great if you enjoy the smell of sunscreen (which I do because it reminds me of summer!), but it is not over powering.

I haven’t been sunburnt while using it, although it's barely spring here in Winnipeg. I look forward to using this more come June. The price is pretty good for about $15 a tube. I would definitely purchase again.

I received this product for free from Neutrogena in exchange for my honest review.

Wednesday, 25 April 2018

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Exfoliating Body Wash Review

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Exfoliating Body Wash is designed to make skin feel softer and smoother. Made with natural exfoliants and a "patented gentle cleansing technology, this product gently exfoliates to reveal more radiant, healthy-looking skin.

According to the package's description, this body wash is enriched with Active Naturals Soy Complex and uniquely formulated to target tone, texture, dullness, blotchiness and brown spots. It promises to instantly transform dry, dull, uneven skin to reveal visibly healthy, more radiant looking skin after just one use!

The product lathers wonderfully and it has a nice light scent, that is not over-powering. I love how that it is gentle enough on the skin every time you shower. AVEENO® Positively Radiant Exfoliating Body Wash uses natural exfoliants made of tiny pieces of walnut that were just the right size for exfoliating. When you come out the shower, your skin feels rejuvenated and soft. It gave my otherwise dry and dull skin a subtle healthy glow.

I used this in conjunction with Aveeno’s Positvely Radiant body lotion and my skin hasn’t felt this smooth and moisturized in a very long time! I will definitely be purchasing this in the future. 

I received this product for free from AVEENO® in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, 23 April 2018

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Body Lotion Review

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Body Lotion is designed to leave your skin looking fresh, awake and luminous.

According to the package's description, it's enriched with an Active Naturals Soy Complex and uniquely formulated to target tone, texture, dullness, blotchiness and brown spots. It's natural light diffusers promise to replenish dull, dry skin and enhance skin’s natural radiance.  

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Body Lotion  comes in a large easy-to-pump bottle that dispenses just the right amount of lotion each time. I didn't find that it helped with brown spots at all, but the product absorbs fast, is lightweight, and leaves a bit of an after shimmer. It's perfect for a day cream without any major skin dryness. 

I love Aveeno; however, I personally didn't like the scent of this lotion. It was not over-powering in any way but not what I am used to from Aveeno. I will likely stick my go-to unscented baby lotion from Aveeno.

I received this product for free from AVEENO® in exchange for my honest review.

Sunday, 8 April 2018

Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Radical Refresher Review

Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Radical Refresher is a great-smelling body wash made with organic coconut water.

According to the package's description, this body wash delivers a jolt of energizing freshness and leaves you with deliciously soft and delicately scented skin.

The scent is fresh and energizing but not overwhelmingly strong or perfume-y smelling. My whole family used this body wash and loved the scent.

We've been using this body wash for a couple weeks and it's fabulous! While I often find clear washes drying, Love Beauty & Planet was perfectly hydrating and didn't leave my skin dry and itchy like other brands.

It has a thicker consistency and lathers wonderfully. You don't need a lot of product, so this bottle would last quite a long time, especially since it comes in a generous 473 ml bottle.

The packaging is super cute and I love that this company uses ethically sourced organic ingredients, recyclable packaging, no dyes, sulfate cleansers or parabens and doesn't test on animals. I would definitely purchase again.

I received this product for free from Love and Beauty in exchange for my honest review.