Friday, 15 June 2018

FREE things to do every day in Winnipeg this summer

There are so many FREE things to do every day in Winnipeg this summer. Below is the daily line up of city freebies to enjoy.


  • Monday through Sunday (July and August): FREE trolley rides between Assiniboine Park Zoo and the Forks 

  • Mondays (June - August): FREE yoga at noon at Millenium Library Park

  • Mondays (June - August): FREE zumba at noon at Memorial Park

  • Tuesdays (June - August): FREE pilates at noon at Memorial Park


***For even more ideas, see a full list of Winnipeg activities here: http://reviewswhatsnew.blogspot.ca/2016/03/summer-things-to-do-in-winnipeg.html

Wednesday, 13 June 2018

Becel Avo Plus Review

Becel Avo Plus is great to cook with (it has light, somewhat buttery flavour) and works fantastic in salads. 

According to the product description, Becel Avo Plus provides a source of Omega 3 and is made with a blend of canola, avocado, and mid-oleic sunflower oils. 

I tested this product in three variations:

I added a splash to some pita bread that I was crisping in the oven for a light bruschetta appetizer and it worked beautifully. 

I also tossed some of this oil in raspberry almond salad with a reduced balsamic vinegar and it made for a nice, light dressing.

Lastly, my husband used this oil to deep fry some chicken fingers for pre-Bomber Game snack and the chicken turned out great --crispy without any heavy, after-taste (probably because this oil has a smoke point of 455 °F, which is higher than EVOO's 320°F).

Whether you’re searing, sautéing, or mixing salad dressings, I highly recommend trying Becel Avo Plus. It's great-tasting, heathy and works well for all your cooking needs.

I received this product for free from Becel in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, 8 June 2018

FREE bonus from Plastiq (plus how to earn credit card rewards on regular household bills)

Got bills? Consider Plastiq! Plastiq allows you to pay and manage all your bills by card - even if the business doesn't accept cards. Think rent/mortgage, tuition, business expenses, club memberships, etc.

While I wouldn't recommend putting anything on credit if you don't have the means to pay for it, using credit cards for rewards is a financially savvy move for those who do have funds in their bank account to pay credit card bills in full.

When you're unable to pay directly by credit card, here are a few reasons to use Plastiq:
  1. Plastiq is a great way to rack up credit card rewards without spending more than you normally budget. Some people are reporting that rent and mortgage payments may code as travel for bonus categories on other cards. With fee-free dollars, you’re earning rewards for free. It’s a no-brainer way to pay bills like mortgage, utilities, student loans, taxes, etc.
  2. Plastiq is a convenient way to consolidate all bill payments to a single service and/or credit card
  3. It is safer to pay by credit card for services or goods not yet fully delivered because it gives you the ability to initiate a credit card chargeback if the payee doesn’t deliver as promised.
  4. Plastiq makes it possible to pay bills when you do not have the cash readily available. While it is never a good idea to go into credit card debt, paying by credit card can give you more time to get the required funds. 
Sign up using this link (or referral code: 987843) to earn $500 in fee free payments!

Note: Your first $500 in payments will be subject to the regular fee. Interestingly, the terms do not seem to stipulate that you must make that initial $500 in payments via credit card — meaning that you could make the first $500 in payments via debit card (at a 1% fee) rather than via credit card (at a 2.5% fee).

Tuesday, 5 June 2018

AOR Breath Biotics Review

These Breath Biotics are amazing. Unlike regular mints that only temporarily mask bad breath smell, this oral probiotic actually targets the root cause of halitosis by helping ensure oral microbiota is healthy. 

Breath Biotics' patented strain of the probiotic Streptococcus salivarius K12 promotes a healthy oral microflora and reduces bacteria that causes bad breath by increasing the good bacteria present in the mouth! 

I received this product for free from AOR in exchange for my honest review.

Friday, 27 April 2018

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel Review

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel Sunscreen SPF 50 is water-light and infused with hyaluronic acid, glycerin and Vitamin E to instantly quench dry skin.

According to the package's description, this Broad Spectrum UVA/UVB protection sunscreen protects and moisturizes skin, locks in hydration, applies easily and leaves no white residue or greasy finish. It is also water-resistant (up to 80 minutes) and dermatologist tested, oil-free and non-comedogenic.

I like how my skin just absorbs this sunscreen and it moisturizes my skin at the same time.  My skin was left soft and not greasy or streaky.  Like other sunscreens, this product does leave your skip feeling slightly tacky but that is to be expected. I’d recommend rinsing rather than re-layering.

The scent is great if you enjoy the smell of sunscreen (which I do because it reminds me of summer!), but it is not over powering.

I haven’t been sunburnt while using it, although it's barely spring here in Winnipeg. I look forward to using this more come June. The price is pretty good for about $15 a tube. I would definitely purchase again.

I received this product for free from Neutrogena in exchange for my honest review.

Wednesday, 25 April 2018

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Exfoliating Body Wash Review

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Exfoliating Body Wash is designed to make skin feel softer and smoother. Made with natural exfoliants and a "patented gentle cleansing technology, this product gently exfoliates to reveal more radiant, healthy-looking skin.

According to the package's description, this body wash is enriched with Active Naturals Soy Complex and uniquely formulated to target tone, texture, dullness, blotchiness and brown spots. It promises to instantly transform dry, dull, uneven skin to reveal visibly healthy, more radiant looking skin after just one use!

The product lathers wonderfully and it has a nice light scent, that is not over-powering. I love how that it is gentle enough on the skin every time you shower. AVEENO® Positively Radiant Exfoliating Body Wash uses natural exfoliants made of tiny pieces of walnut that were just the right size for exfoliating. When you come out the shower, your skin feels rejuvenated and soft. It gave my otherwise dry and dull skin a subtle healthy glow.

I used this in conjunction with Aveeno’s Positvely Radiant body lotion and my skin hasn’t felt this smooth and moisturized in a very long time! I will definitely be purchasing this in the future. 

I received this product for free from AVEENO® in exchange for my honest review.

Monday, 23 April 2018

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Body Lotion Review

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Body Lotion is designed to leave your skin looking fresh, awake and luminous.

According to the package's description, it's enriched with an Active Naturals Soy Complex and uniquely formulated to target tone, texture, dullness, blotchiness and brown spots. It's natural light diffusers promise to replenish dull, dry skin and enhance skin’s natural radiance.  

AVEENO® Positively Radiant Body Lotion  comes in a large easy-to-pump bottle that dispenses just the right amount of lotion each time. I didn't find that it helped with brown spots at all, but the product absorbs fast, is lightweight, and leaves a bit of an after shimmer. It's perfect for a day cream without any major skin dryness. 

I love Aveeno; however, I personally didn't like the scent of this lotion. It was not over-powering in any way but not what I am used to from Aveeno. I will likely stick my go-to unscented baby lotion from Aveeno.

I received this product for free from AVEENO® in exchange for my honest review.

Sunday, 8 April 2018

Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Radical Refresher Review

Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Radical Refresher is a great-smelling body wash made with organic coconut water.

According to the package's description, this body wash delivers a jolt of energizing freshness and leaves you with deliciously soft and delicately scented skin.

The scent is fresh and energizing but not overwhelmingly strong or perfume-y smelling. My whole family used this body wash and loved the scent.

We've been using this body wash for a couple weeks and it's fabulous! While I often find clear washes drying, Love Beauty & Planet was perfectly hydrating and didn't leave my skin dry and itchy like other brands.

It has a thicker consistency and lathers wonderfully. You don't need a lot of product, so this bottle would last quite a long time, especially since it comes in a generous 473 ml bottle.

The packaging is super cute and I love that this company uses ethically sourced organic ingredients, recyclable packaging, no dyes, sulfate cleansers or parabens and doesn't test on animals. I would definitely purchase again.

I received this product for free from Love and Beauty in exchange for my honest review.



Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Conditioner Review

Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Conditioner is a great-smelling conditioner made with organic coconut water.

According to the package's description, this conditioner lightly moisturizes and leaves tresses volumized and bountiful, with an energizing burst of delicate Mimosa flower scent.
I've been using this conditioner for a couple weeks and confirm it smells great! I have fine hair but this conditioner is light and doesn’t weigh the hair down. I found it moisturized well and even gave my hair some body. 

The packaging is super cute and I love that this company uses ethically sourced organic ingredients, recyclable packaging, no dyes, siliocones or parabens and doesn't test on animals. It comes in a generous 400ml bottle with a large snap lid that allows you to store the bottle upside for easy-dispensing.

Paired with the Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower shampoo, my hair was left shiny and bouncy. I would definitely purchase again.

I received this product for free from Love and Beauty in exchange for my honest review.

Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Shampoo Review

Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water & Mimosa Flower Shampoo is a great-smelling shampoo made with organic coconut water.

According to the package's description, this shampoo lightly moisturizes and leaves tresses volumized and bountiful, with an energizing burst of delicate Mimosa flower scent.

I've been using this shampoo for a couple weeks and confirm it smells greats! I have found it cleans my hair well without over-drying. 

It comes in a generous 400ml bottle with a large snap lid that allows you to store the bottle upside for easy-dispensing.

The packaging is super cute and I love that this company uses ethically sourced organic ingredients, recyclable packaging, no dyes or parabens and doesn't test on animals.

Paired with the conditioner, my hair was left shiny and bouncy. I would definitely purchase again.

I received this product for free from Love and Beauty in exchange for my honest review.